

# 2024 HONORS CONVOCATION CEREMONY

CUDWORTH HALL

MAY

30

AT 3 PM

THURS



The University of Alabama at Birmingham

# **SPECIAL GUESTS**

#### **DR. PARRISH KING**

President, UAB School of Dentistry Alumni Association

# DR. MARY WALLACE

President, Alabama Dental Association (ALDA)

#### **DR. WENDY HOLDER**

President, Alabama Academy of General Dentistry (AAGD)

#### **DR. TUYET LAM**

on behalf of The Lam Scholarship Award honoring Dr. Chau Ngoc Lam

# 2024 HONORS CONVOCATION CEREMONY PROGRAM

# WELCOME & INTRODUCTION OF THE DEAN

Dr. Carly Timmons McKenzie

#### DEAN'S MESSAGE

Interim Dean Geurs

# INTRODUCTION OF THE PRESENTERS

Dr. Carly Timmons McKenzie

# AWARD PRESENTATION BY DEPARTMENTS

Interim Dean Geurs & Dr. Carly Timmons McKenzie

## DEAN'S CONCLUSION

Interim Dean Geurs

# **2024 AWARDS**

## **OMICRON KAPPA UPSILON**

# D4 members:

Nina Bidikov Henry Kendrick Kaytlyn McAllister Hannah McCalman Elizabeth McCalman David Cruz Walma Reed Thomas

#### International Dentist Program member:

Wendy Suarez Guerra

#### **DEAN'S OFFICE**

# UAB National Alumni Society Dean's Scholarships

Destiny Moser Sunin Powers Hyojeong Kim Jennifer Proctor Angie Bradley

## STUDENT, ALUMNI, & EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

Alabama Board of Dental Scholars Scholarships Award Bhavik Patel

Alabama Dental Alumni Association Award for Leadership Heath Padgett

Alabama Dental Association (ALDA) Student Leadership Award Heath Padgett

> ASDA Award of Excellence Heath Padgett

Joseph F. Volker Award Lauren Brashear

Dr. Chau Ngoc Lam Scholarship Award Dara Johnson

Dr. Jeanne C. Sinkford Student Leadership Award-ADEA Dara Johnson

Pierre Fauchard Academy Oral Health Foundation Dental Student Scholarship Program D3: Rebecca Taylor Powers

> Thomas P. Hinman Scholarships Chase Feagin

### ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

American College of Dentists Brandon Hardy

B'ham District Dental Society Award Brandon Hardy

International College of Dentists Student Humanitarian Award Dara Johnson

International College of Dentists Student Leadership Award Kaytlyn McAllister

> Leon Schneyer Award Nellie Baghaei

William S. Kramer Award of Excellence Andrew Lisy

#### **CLINICAL & COMMUNITY SCIENCES**

American Association of Public Health Dentistry Dara Johnson

#### **ENDODONTICS**

American Association of Endodontics Zane Hood

#### **ORAL & MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY**

American Academy of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology Graham Bourne

American Academy of Orofacial Pain Outstanding Senior Award Caleb Braun

American Asso. of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeons Dental Implant Student Award Timothy Weber

American Asso. of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeons Dental Student Award/ OMS & Anesthesiology Henry Kendrick

American Dental Society of Anesthesiology Horace Wells Award Douglas Reed Thomas

#### **ORTHODONTICS**

American Association of Orthodontics Heath Padgett

#### PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry AAPD Lauren Brashear Brian D. Stone Memorial Award Dental Lifeline Network Basmah Aref

#### PERIODONTICS

Quintessence Award for Clinical Achievement in Periodontics Nathan Dennis

Academy of Osseointegration (AO) Outstanding Dental Student in Implant Dentistry Award Farah Niyazi

The American Academy of Periodontology Dental Student Award for Achievement in Periodontology Tyrus Smith

#### **RESEARCH**

Quintessence Award for Research Achievement David Cruz Walma

Pierre Fauchard Academy Senior Student Research Award Graham Bourne

#### Research Honors Graduates David Cruz Walma

Graham Bourne Zane Hood

#### **RESTORATIVE SCIENCES**

AGD 2024 Senior Student Dental Award Nicole Nguyen and Amy Meneses

Academy of Operative Dentistry Jahnvi Patel

American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry Maria Morales Linares

American Academy of Implant Dentistry Zane Hood

American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology Henry Kendrick

American Academy of Oral Medicine Hannah McCalman

American College of Prosthodontics Undergraduate Award (Palmi Mollier Merit) Carolina Grace

International Congress of Oral Implantologist Predoctoral Student Achievement Award Nathan Dennis

Society for Color & Appearance in Dentistry Adit Sheth Southeastern Academy of Prosthodontics Trevor Wever

Quintessence Award for Clinical Achievement & Restorative Dentistry Noora AlBaiyaa

Whip-Mix Best of the Best Prosthodontics Award Megha Patel

William Lionell McCracken Memorial Award (Removable Award)

Riya Patel

