Research Strategic Initiative: Growth with Purpose

Initiative Support: Project Director of Strategic Initiative- Chandni Khadka ckhadka@uab.edu

Governance Structure:

Research Strategic Initiative-Growth with Purpose: Executive Steering Committee				
Name	Title	Membership		
Dr. Ray L. Watts	President	Chair		
Dr. Chris Brown	Vice President of Research	Vice Chair		
Dr. Janet Woodruff-Borden	Provost & Sr. Vice President of Academic Affairs	Member		
Ms. Stephanie Mullins	Interim Vice President of Finance	Member		
Dr. Anupam Agarwal	Sr. Vice President and Dean of School of Medicine	Member		
Mr. Tom Brannan	Sr. Vice President of Advancement & Strategic Initiatives	Member		
Ms. Dawn Bulgarella	Chief Executive Office of the UAB Health System	Member		
Dr. Curt Carver	Vice President and Chief Information Officer	Member		
Mr. Jim Bakken	Chief Communication Officer	Member		
Mr. W. John Daniel	General Counsel & Chief University Counsel	Member		
R. Coleman Loper	Interim CEO of Southern Research	Member		

Deans Council's Representatives			
Dr. Anupam Agarwal	HSOM	aagarwal@uabmc.edu	
Dr. Shannon Blanton	Honors	slblanton@uab.edu	
Dr. Andrew Butler	SOHP	andrewbutler@uab.edu	
Dr. Paul Erwin	SOPH	perwin@uab.edu	
Dr. Nicolaas Geurs	SOD	ngeurs@uab.edu	
Dr. Kasia Gonnerman	Library	gonnerma@uab.edu	
Dr. Jeffrey W Holmes	SOE	holmesjw@uab.edu	
Dr. Shadi S Martin	GRAD	martinss@uab.edu	
Dr. Kelly K Nichols	S00	nicholsk@uab.edu	
Dr. Maria R Shirey	SON	mrshirey@uab.edu	
Dr. Christopher Shook	CSOB	clshook@uab.edu	
Dr. Kecia M Thomas	CAS	keciamt@uab.edu	
Dr. Teresa Taber Doughty	SOEH	ttaberdo@uab.edu	
Dr. Ritu Aneja	SOHP	raneja@uab.edu	
Dr. Marie Bakitas	SON	mbakitas@uab.edu	
Dr. Mark Banaszak Holl	SOE	mmbanasz@uab.edu	
Dr. Etty Benveniste	HSOM	tika@uab.edu	
Dr. Mark Bevensee	Honors	bevensee@uab.edu	

Dr. Kelley Pettee Gabriel	SOPH	gabrielk@uab.edu
Dr. Marla Hertz	Library	mihertz@uab.edu
Dr. Amjad Javed	SOD	javeda@uab.edu
Dr. Karen Kennedy	CSOB	knk@uab.edu
Dr. Timothy Kraft	S00	twkraft@uab.edu
Dr. Scott Snyder	SOEH	SSNYDER@uab.edu
Dr. Yogesh Vohra	CAS	ykvohra@uab.edu
Dr. Lisa Curtis	GRAD	lisacurtis@uabmc.edu

	Final Working Group (WG) Members list			
WG	1: Research Related Processes			Email
1	Jason Nichols	Co-Chair	OOR	jjn@uab.edu
2	Victor Darley-Usmar	Co-Chair	HSOM	vdarleyusmar@uabmc.edu
3	Tom Buford	Member	HSOM	
4	Jennifer Croker	Member	HSOM	
5	Jereme Logan	Member	Compliance	
6	Robert Howard	Member	IT	
7	Bernard May	Member	Financial Affairs	
8	Sylvie Mrug	Member	CAS	
9	Dana Rizk	Member	HSOM	
10	Ellen Lavoie Smith	Member	SON	
11	David Standaert	Member	HSOM	
12	Martin Young	Member	HSOM	
MAG	4. Cubaranna (CC)			

WG1: Subgroups (SG)

- SG 1: Clinical Trials- David Standaert (Chair)
- SG 2: Grants and Contracts-Gina Hedberg (Chair)
- **SG 3: IRB-** *Sylvie Mrug (Chair)*, *Adam McClintock*
- SG 4: OSP- Martin Young (Chair), Gina Hedberg
- SG 5: COI- Jonathan Miller (Chair)
- SG 6: Technology Transfer- Kathy Nugent (Chair), Raju Vamsee

WG 2: Research Technology

1	Mike Matthews	Co-Chair	OOR	mimatt@uab.edu
2	Brian Rivers	Co-Chair	IT	cbrivers@uab.edu
3	Jim Cimino	Member	HSOM	
4	Chad Duke	Member	SOE	
5	Tina Ealy	Member	Financial Affairs	
6	Kamilah Frison	Member	OOR	
7	Geoff Gordon	Member	HSIS	
8	Ryan Irvin	Member	SOPH	
9	Matt Might	Member	HSOM	
10	Blakely O'Connor	Member	OOR	
11	Ashley Specht	Member	HSIS	

WG	WG 3: Research Data Structure & Management				
1	Suzanne Judd	Co-Chair	SOPH	sejudd@uab.edu	
2	Ralph Zottola	Co-Chair	IT	rzottola@uab.edu	
3	Lisa Curtis	Member	Graduate School		
4	Marla Hertz	Member	UAB Libraries		
5	Emily Levitan	Member	SOPH		
6	Nicole Riddle	Member	CAS		
7	Joshua Robinson	Member	CSOB		
8	Scott Sorenson	Member	IT		
9	Matt Wyatt	Member	CCTS		
WG	4: Employment Destination				
1	Janet May	Co-Chair	HR	jlmay@uab.edu	
2	Michelle Robinson	Co-Chair	Office of Provost	mrobin@uab.edu	
3	Muna Anabtawi	Member	SOD		
4	Scott Ballinger	Member	HSOM		
5	Edith Castleberry	Member	CAS		
6	Bertha Hidalgo	Member	SOPH		
7	Frances Lund	Member	HSOM		
8	Scott Snyder	Member	SOEH		
9	Cathy Tarver	Member	SON		
10	Yuchen Wang	Member	S00		
WG	5 : Research Administration Workforce				
1	Gina Hedberg	Co-Chair	OOR	ghedberg@uab.edu	
2	David Kimberlin	Co-Chair	HSOM	dkimberlin@uabmc.edu	
3	Donna Burnett	Member	SOHP		
4	Jeremy Day	Member	HSOM		
5	Rachel Jones	Member	Financial Affairs		
6	Jonathan McGill	Member	OOR		
7	Linda Moneyham	Member	SON		
8	George Munchus	Member	CSOB		
9	Ryan Outman	Member	HSOM		
10	Erik Roberson	Member	HSOM		
11	Monica Stinnett	Member	CAS		
WG	5. Subgroups (SG)				

WG 5: Subgroups (SG)

SG 1: Clinical research leader hiring- Jason Nichols

SG 2: Organizational functions- <u>Monica Stinnet (Chair)</u>, Donna Burnett, Alice Harding, Renee Clements, <u>Cindy Joiner (Chair)</u>, Cathy Tarver

SG 3: Re-evaluate & augment support staff- *David Kimberlin (Chair), Linda Moneyham, Ryan Outman, Sarah Houston, Daron Drew-Jelks, Monica Stinnett <u>Jonathan Miller (Chair), Jonathan McGill, Erik Roberson, Renee Clements, Rachel Jones, Felice Cook, Gina Hedberg (Chair), George Munchus, Kathy Nugent, <u>Alex Boles (Chair)</u>, Karthik Gopalakrishnan*</u>

SG 4: Enhance multi-disciplinary research support teams- *Frannie Horn (Chair), Doug Bentley, Shaila Handattu, Donna Burnett, Erik Roberson, Mike Bertram, Mike Mugavero, Megan Pickering, Ashley Davis, Alex Boles, <u>Jennifer Croker (Chair)</u>, Anne Russell, Jeremy Day*

SG 5: Expand Clinical Trials Administrative Office functions and services for non-oncology- *Mark Marchant, Patrick Frazier, David Geldmacher, <u>Ryan Outman (Chair)</u>, Tapan Mehta*

WG	WG 6: Facilities Optimization & Enhancement			
1	Greg Parsons	Co-Chair	Facilities	gparsons@uab.edu
2	David Schwebel	Co-Chair	OOR	schwebel@uab.edu
3	Kevin Bell	Member	HSOM	
4	Michael Bertram	Member	HSOM	
5	Chris Boutwell	Member	S00	
6	Emily Colpack	Member	Facilities	
7	Kim Hazelwood	Member	CAS	
8	Rakesh Patel	Member	HSOM	
9	Kristina Visscher	Member	HSOM	
10	Patricia West	Member	UAB Libraries	
11	Brad Yoder	Member	HSOM	

College of Arts & Science-CAS Collat School of Business - CSOB

School of Dentistry-SOD School of Education & Human Sciences-SOEH

School of Engineering- SOE School of Health Professions-SOHP

Heersink School of Medicine -HSOM School of Nursing-SON

School of Optometry- SOO School of Public Health -SOPH

Office of Research -OOR Center for Clinical and Translational Science- CCTS