UAB MHP-NMMIS Research Advisory Board

Purpose

The purpose of the Research Advisory Board is to expand student and faculty opportunities by bringing together different groups across campus and outside of UAB. We will capitalize on the collective expertise of the board to build a vibrant research program that utilizes student-mentor relationships to develop research questions, gather data, apply for grants, and publish findings. This ensures the longevity of the programs, provides invaluable learning opportunities for students, and ensures faculty meet research objectives.

Tangible objectives - 2022-2025

- 1. Identify areas of overlapping interest and expertise (2022).
- 2. Develop focused research questions (2022-2023).
- 3. Match students with mentors (starting Fall 2022 with new cohorts each fall semester).
- 4. Generate and publish preliminary data (2023-2024).
- 5. Search and apply for targeted grants (2022 onwards).

Board Membership (alphabetical)

Name	Email	Current Position	Areas of interest
Ara Alexandrian	aalexandrian@uabmc.edu	Assistant Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology, UAB Medicine, O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center	clinical medical physics, clinical-computational bridges
Jon Baldwin	jbaldwin@uabmc.edu	Associate Professor of Radiology, UAB School of Medicine Program Director, Nuclear Medicine Residency Medical Director, NMMIS	
Luvenia Bender	wenn@uab.edu	Associate Professor of Radiology, UAB School of Medicine	
Amy Brady	amybrady@uab.edu	Program Director, NMMIS	
Emily Caffrey	emilycaf@uab.edu	Program Director, MHP	dosimetry, radiation effects
Carlos Cardenas	cecardenas@uabmc.edu	Assistant Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology, UAB Medicine, O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center	clinical medical physics, AI, dose planning
Remo George	remogeorge@uab.edu	Assistant Professor, NMMIS	
Krystle Glasgow	krystlew@uab.edu	Clinical Coordinator, NMMIS	
Donald Gordon	dgordonjkk@yahoo.com	Retired nuclear cardiologist, UAB	

Suzanne Lapi	lapi@uab.edu	Professor of Radiology and Chemistry UAB Cyclotron Facility Director	radiochemistry, development of new radionuclides for clinical trials
Jonathan McConathy	jmcconathy@uabmc.edu	Associate Professor of Radiology Director, UAB School of Medicine Division of Molecular Imaging and Therapeutics	PET tracer development, clinical trials
Keith McGregor	kmmcgreg@uab.edu	Director of Research and Associate Professor, Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences	
Sergey Mirov	mirov@uab.edu	Professor of Physics Director, UAB Center for Optical Sensors and Spectroscopies	laser physics, spectroscopy
Glenn Sturchio	sturchio.glenn@mayo.edu	Director of Health Physics, Mayo Clinic	
Sharon White	shlwhite@uabmc.edu	Program Director, Imaging Medical Physics Residency Program Associate Professor, Division of Physics and Engineering Physicist, Division of Molecular Imaging and Therapeutics (Nuclear Medicine) Chair of the UAB Rad Safety Committee	PET, nuclear medicine
Charles Wilson	cawilso2@uab.edu	Program Director and Assistant Professor, UAB	particle accelerators, environmental health physics
Michael Yester	myester@uabmc.edu	Assistant Program Director, Imaging Medical Physics Residency Program Professor, Division of Physics and Engineering Physicist, Division of Molecular Imaging and Therapeutics (Nuclear Medicine)	physics, radiology, medical physics
Daniel Yoder	dyoder@uabmc.edu	Imaging Manager, UAB Hospital	